Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

  National Flag


RED represents the struggle for freedom and independence
BLUE represents the Indian Ocean in the middle of which Mauritius is situated
YELLOW represents the new light of independence shining over the island
GREEN represents the agriculture of Mauritius and its colour throughout the twelve months of the year


The flag is in the proportion of 6 to 4 and consists of four equal horizontal stripes Red, Blue, Yellow and Green.

The British Standard colours and numbers for the colours are as follows:-

Red 0.005
Blue 7.086
Yellow 0.001
Green 0.010