Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Home>Legislations>The Constitution

  The Constitution

The Republic of Mauritius is a sovereign democratic state within the Commonwealth with a long tradition of parliamentary democracy.
The Constitution guarantees to the citizen his fundamental rights: right to liberty and protection of the law, freedom of conscience, freedom of association, of movement and of opinion, freedom of expression, freedom of creed and of religious belief as well as the right to private property.
The Constitution establishes clearly the separation of powers between the legislative, the executive and the judiciary.
For more information please visit: The Mauritius Assembly's Website
Explore Mauritius