Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Home>News>Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award Event marked by unveiling of monument


Average Rating

Related News

Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award Event marked by unveiling of monument

Date: November 09, 2016
Domain:Youth & Sports
Persona: Business; Citizen; Government; Non-Citizen

GIS - 09 November, 2016: A monument to mark the 50th Anniversary of The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award programme in Mauritius was unveiled on 8 November 2016 at Belle Mare Outdoor Centre, while the winners of the 2016  Award Programme received their Award certificate. The event was chaired by Mr Yogida Sawmynaden, Minister of Youth and Sports.
Mr Sawmynaden underpinned the significance of the Award Programme in the empowerment of youngsters at different levels. Over the years the Award Programme has gained in importance so that the number of schools participating has nearly doubled: from about 30 to about 60 secondary schools. Participants are exposed to numerous activities such as community service, adventure and discovery, rescue, and safety and health which are aimed at developing different qualities.
The Minister put emphasis on the multi-dimensional development that takes place through enlistment and highlighted the feeling of solidarity and unity that emanates from the various activities proposed in connection to the Award Programme.
Some 350 students from various secondary schools around the country embarked on the Programme this year to engage in the various activities and gain valuable experience.
The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award Programme
Introduced in 1966 in Mauritius, The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award Programme equips young people for life regardless of their background, culture, physical ability, skills and interests. It is open to young people between the ages of 14 and 25.
The Award concept is one of individual challenge. It presents to young people a balanced, non-competitive programme of voluntary activities which encourages personal discovery and growth, self-reliance, perseverance, responsibility to themselves and service to the community. Going for the Award is a personal challenge; it pushes young people to their personal limits and recognises their achievements consistently.
The basic structure of the Award Programme consists of four mandatory Sections: Service; Adventurous Journey; Skills; and Physical Recreation. There are three levels of Award: Bronze (for those over 14), Silver (for those over 15) and Gold (for those over 16).
Government Information Service, Prime Minister’s Office, Level 6, New Government Centre, Port Louis, Mauritius. Email:  Website:
(0) Comment(s)