Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Home>News>Mr. Kailash Purryag becomes fifth President of the Republic


Average Rating

Related News

Mr. Kailash Purryag becomes fifth President of the Republic

Date: July 24, 2012
Domain:Law and Order
Persona: Government

GIS - July 24, 2012: Mr. Rajkeswur Purryag, GCSK, GOSK, was sworn in as the fifth President of the Republic of Mauritius on Saturday 21 July in front of Chief Justice Sik Yuen, at the State House, Le Réduit.The Prime Minister, Dr Navinchandra Ramgoolam, GCSK, FRCP, and several other eminent personalities were present for the occasion.
Mr. Purryag was elected President of the Republic on 20 July following a motion presented at the National Assembly by the Prime Minister.
Speaking on the career of the new President of the Republic, the Prime Minister said that he has an impressive professional and political track record, with an invaluable contribution in all fields of national endeavour in a spirit of service for higher causes.
Born on 12 December 1947, Mr. Purryag, familiarly known as Kailash Purryag, became an Attorney at Law in 1973 and was elected to the Legislative Assembly for the first time in 1976.
He was Minister of Social Security from January 1980 to June 1982; Minister of Health from January 1984 to January 1988; Minister of Economic Planning and Information and Telecommunications from December 1995 to July 1997; and Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Trade from July 1997 to September 2000.
Prior to his election as President of the Republic, Mr. Purryag served as Speaker of the National Assembly since July 2005.
Government Information Service, Prime Minister’s Office, Level 6, New Government Centre, Port Louis, Mauritius. Email: Website:Government Information Service
(0) Comment(s)