Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Home>News>President of the Republic leads Mauritian delegation to the Commonwealth Games 2014


Average Rating

Related News

President of the Republic leads Mauritian delegation to the Commonwealth Games 2014

Date: July 23, 2014
Domain:Youth & Sports
Persona: Citizen; Government; Non-Citizen

GIS – July 23, 2014:    A 114 member delegation comprising Mauritian athletes and officials, led by the President of the Republic, Mr Rajkeswur Purryag, GCSK, GOSK is currently in Glasgow, Scotland in the context of the 20th Commonwealth Games.
Sixty-one Mauritian athletes including athletes with disabilities will be participating in 11 disciplines namely: wrestling, table tennis, athletics, badminton, cycling, boxing, triathlon, squash, judo, weightlifting and handisports.
On Monday 21 July, more than 1000 athletes from 25 countries including the Mauritian delegation and teams from Bangladesh, New Zealand, India and Singapore reached Glasgow for the Games.
Around 6,500 athletes and officials are now settling at the Commonwealth Games Athletes' Village in Glasgow’s East End, ahead of the 11 days of sporting action.


The official opening ceremony of the 20th edition of the Commonwealth Games is scheduled for tonight at Celtic Park.  All the teams will join the 2,000 cast members in the opening ceremony representing the host city to 40,000 people at Celtic Park with over 1.5 billion television viewers expected to tune in from all corners of the globe.


The 2014 Commonwealth Games is being held from 23 July to 3 August where 6,500 athletes are competing in 17 events.  The Commonwealth Games is a unique, world class event which is held once every four years.  It is often referred to as the ‘Friendly Games’.


The Commonwealth
The Commonwealth, formed in 1949, is one of the world’s oldest political associations of States with 54 countries as members spanning from Africa, Asia, the Americas, Europe and the Pacific.
Its roots go back to the British Empire when some countries were ruled directly or indirectly by Britain. Some of these countries became self-governing while retaining Britain’s monarch as Head of State. They formed the British Commonwealth of Nations.
Mauritius joined the Commonwealth in 1968.


 Government Information Service, Prime Minister’s Office, Level 6, New Government Centre, Port Louis, Mauritius. Email: Website:

(0) Comment(s)